Sharon M.'s review of Pearls of Joy

Pearls of Joy

Preferred Members
South Bay Gold
4.5 star rating 0 miles
4.6 star rating 0 miles
Pacific Bay Watch Corporation
0 miles
QCB Jewelers
5.0 star rating 0 miles
Customer Reviews & Ratings
Complaint Posted 3/30/2011
. 1
. 0
Review 3/30/2011
I heard about this company from the, which contains a discussion forum with contributions from various internet-based pearl dealers. Dealer participants are supposedly "reputable", and since I found no negative information about this LA-based company (which is also a contributor), I decided to place an order for a South Seas pendant with diamond accents. The order arrived timely (in about a week). However, upon examining the piece, I determined that the bale (what the chain goes through) was too small to accommodate anything but a very very thin, cheap looking chain. I emailed the company and asked for suggestions, but received no response. I then noted that the three diamond insert was "rocky" and bobbled back and forth. Not a sign of quality, so I decided to return the item. The company advertises a 90 day return policy. I sent the item back way before the 90 day period, using FedEx insured. The item was never worn and was in brand new condition. The website states that refunds are issued within a week; however, after almost 3 weeks, I heard nothing from the company. They would not respond to emails or phone calls. Is this a company anyone would want to do business with? You decide.
Business's response - on 3/31/2011
Dear Sharon, I wanted to write a follow up to your complaint and offer a formal apology. As I mentioned to you on the phone today I cannot say for certain what caused such a long delay refunding your returned order. As our website states it typically should take no longer then a week for refunds to be processed. I am personally looking into what in our system allowed your package to go unprocessed for so long - all I can do is apologize and let you know your order has been refunded at this point. We do have a flawless BBB rating for a reason and in all the years we have been in business we have received nothing but positive feedback. Customer service is very important to us and something we take great pride in. Your situation is the first of its kind and we will take steps to ensure that it is the last. What I do take issue with is the claims that our product is of low quality or poor craftsmanship. You stated that the diamond setting was "rocky" or poorly set which is confusing because when I spoke with you on the phone you told me you understood that this "rocking" motion is part of the design of the "shimmer" pendant. Also it is unfair to imply that the chain is cheap or something less then what you purchased. Yes the chain is delicate, in fact the entire jewelry piece is delicate but it is exactly as advertised, solid 14kt gold. Given the pendant is small and delicate, most people prefer a delicate chain to go with it, a large chain would not look right with this piece. I completely understand if the jewelry piece is not to your tastes, this is why we have a 90 day return policy but I do not find it a fair review to imply that the workmanship is something less then what you agreed to purchase. So again I do apologize for your slow refund and I have offered you a deep discount (via private email) should you choose to purchase with us again. Please know that this issue is the first of its kind and something we take very seriously. Sincerely, Kevin Canning
Was this review helpful? (7)
Send Message to Reviewer
Report abuse
Additional Business Information
Hours   Phone   (800) 451-1411 Address   2355 Westwood Blvd
Los Angeles, CA 90064
Website Email  
Contact   Other  
© Copyright 2017 TrustLink All Rights Reserved.